

## ขาวสารนิเทศ • Press Release

กรมสารนิเทศ กระทรวงการตางประเทศ Department of Information, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Tel. 02-643-5105 ● Fax.02- 643-5106-7 ● Email: information02@mfa.go.th

Website: https://www.mfa.go.th Facebook: www.facebook.com/ThaiMFA Twitter: www.twitter.com/MFAThai

\* \*

No. 59 / 2557

## Thailand reaffirms its commitments to enhancing nuclear security at the 3<sup>rd</sup> Nuclear Security Summit

On 24 - 25 March 2014, Mr. Sihasak Phuangketkeow, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, led the Thai delegation to the Third Nuclear Security Summit (NSS) in The Hague, The Netherlands, as Special Envoy of the Prime Minister of Thailand.

The Thai delegation submitted its national progress report and engaged in a dynamic discussion on ways enhance nuclear security. Thailand's hosting of a Sherpa meeting, in preparation of the Summit, during 13-15 January 2014 in Pattaya, was also well noted.

Thailand places importance on nuclear security. Its commitment to enhancing cooperation on nuclear security is evidenced through its constructive role as an active member of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and its current membership on the IAEA's Board of Governors (BOG). Over the years, Thailand has jointly hosted with the IAEA, various national and regional activities, including meetings and capacity-building workshops. Thailand also initiated the establishment of the ASEAN Network of Regulatory Bodies on Atomic Energy (ASEANTOM).

At the Summit, 53 participating countries and 4 international organizations reaffirmed their commitments to strengthening nuclear security architecture and combatting nuclear terrorism. They also adopted the Hague Nuclear Security Summit Communiqué which sets goals leading to the next Summit, to be held in 2016 in Washington DC.

This meeting in The Hague was third of a series of Nuclear Security Summits inaugurated in Washington DC in 2010. In 2012, Prime Minister Yingluck led the Thai delegation to participate in the second Summit in Seoul, Republic of Korea.

\*\*\*\*\*

25 March 2014